Any individual or organization dedicated to the support of the small business community in the United States, including, but not limited to, trade and professional associations, business organizations, and SBDCs, may nominate an individual SBDC counselor for this award, including self-nominations. 

Nominations for the SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC award will be accepted starting February 15, 2012.  The nomination period will close on March 1, 2012, at 11:00 PM ET. 

Nomination packages for the SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC award must be submitted through the portal using the “Enter a Submission” tab.  Please note, nominators will need to establish a free account with in order to submit any nomination.

All nominations will be screened for eligibility.  Eligible nominations will be evaluated by a panel of judges comprised of senior SBA officials.  The SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC award winner will be selected by the Small Business Administration at its sole discretion. 

Nominees must also be residents of the United States or its territories and will be subject to background checks.

Participation in this awards’ process constitutes consent to SBA’s and its agents’ use of SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC award winners’ and/or nominators’ name, likeness, photograph, opinions and/or hometown and state for promotional purposes in any media, worldwide, without further payment or consideration. 

Participation in this awards' process also constitutes consent to SBA's disclosure of the information in its file concerning Nominees for SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC to those persons chosen by the SBA as judges for this award.  This consent is given with the understanding that disclosure shall be limited to the information contained in that file, and that no disclosure shall take place after the selection of the SBA Counselor of the Year: SBDC winner is made.